University Innovation Fellows Events at the 2017 Annual Meeting of the Association of American Colleges & Universities

On January 26, 2017, the University Innovation Fellows (UIF) program hosted two events as part of the 2017 Annual Meeting of the Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U). The four members of the UIF program team were joined by eleven University Innovation Fellows from schools around North America.

First, from 1 to 3 pm, the team hosted a group of AAC&U attendees for an interactive tour of the Hasso Plattner Institute of Design ( at Stanford University. Later that day, during the opening night forum from 7 to 8:30 pm, the group hosted a session titled “Predict the Future by Inventing It: Accelerating the Pace of Change in Academia.” The session focused on innovation, entrepreneurship, design thinking, and creativity, and why these topics are important for today’s generation of students. Participants explored these skills and mindsets, as well as teaching tools developed and used at Stanford University, alongside partner schools from the UIF network.


“A Moonshot Approach to Change in Higher Education: Creativity, Innovation, and the Redesign of Academia,” Spring 2016 issue, Liberal Education, AAC&U. Read the full article »

Make Space: How to Set the Stage for Creative Collaboration by Scott Doorley and Scott Witthoft. Learn more »

The University Innovation Fellows program trains students to lead change in higher education. Learn more and nominate students »

Teaching and Learning Studio workshop helps faculty learn how to design and facilitate active learning experiences and experiment with new ways of engaging students using design thinking. Learn more and apply »



University Innovation Fellows team members:

Leticia Britos Cavagnaro
Humera Fasihuddin
Katie Dzugan
Laurie Moore


Yaser Alkayale, Dalhousie University
Ann Delaney, Boise State University
Seline Dogan, Dalhousie University
Sean Farrell, Union College
Vanessa Ganaden, California State University, Fullerton
Josh Halverson, University of Minnesota
Hannah Hund, Wichita State University
LaRissa Lawrie, Wichita State University
Lorenzo Santos, California State University, Fullerton
Forrest Satterfield, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Jacqueline Schulz, Tennessee Technological University